Home > Lync > Find #Lync Versions

Find #Lync Versions

January 21, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

Awhile back, a tool called Find Lync Versions was released. This tool was pretty helpful in finding out what versions of Lync were registering to a server. For me specifically, it helped me find a bunch of old CX700 phones that were connecting with OCS versions of Lync Phone Edition. I recently went to find it again and the site that it was hosted on was gone.  I used the Way Back Machine and an old copy I had to use it again recently. Thought I would re-post the directions for it as its main feature was a SQL Query against the RTCLocal database. Since I don’t know the original author nor do I have their permission, I am not going to re-publish the zip file publicly. Hopefully the original author can re-post it or the source code somewhere.

https://web.archive.org/web/20121014145841/http://www.stumper66.com/software/lync.html

If you have Lync server installed, you’ll find it’s not very easy to find the client versions.
This simple program makes it very easy.
All Lync data is aquired by querying the SQL database RTCLocal.

Optional features:

  • Active directory – Resolve email addreses to user names.
  • DNS – Resolve IP addresses to computer names.

Note:  .NET 4.0 required.

To configure, specifiy server name and SQL instance.

Here are the only SQL queries that the program executes:

USE [rtcdyn]
SELECT UserAtHost, ClientApp, EndpointId, ContactInfo FROM RegistrarEndpoint T1
LEFT OUTER JOIN rtc..Resource T2 ON T1.OwnerId = T2.ResourceId
WHERE IsServerSource = 0 ORDER BY UserAtHost

For Legacy (OCS) servers:

USE [rtcdyn]
SELECT UserAtHost, ClientApp, EndpointId, ContactInfo FROM Endpoint T1
LEFT OUTER JOIN rtc..Resource T2 ON T1.OwnerId = T2.ResourceId
WHERE IsServerSource = 0 ORDER BY UserAtHost

Categories: Lync Tags:
  1. January 21, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    This script will also spit out the same information – http://www.ehloworld.com/269

    • January 21, 2014 at 1:16 pm

      Yep, Pat does a bang up job with his scripts. The main difference here was it was a GUI with a sortable table. Don’t believe Pat’s script does that but you could easily take his script and export it to CSV to achieve the same result. A large reason for posting this was making it so I could remember how I used to do it. 🙂

  2. soder
    January 22, 2014 at 2:44 am

    “I recently went to find it again and the site that it was hosted on was gone.”

    Thats the only important sentence of your whole post. I dont put my trust in that damn cloud, or any online-only portal. You must mirror everything and archive at your own location, otherwise you are at the mercy of the ephemeral internet. Reliable availability of the locally archived content is incomparable to the content found on some random internet site. If everybody working in this industry would try to understand this, there would be much much much less crying posts like “stuff that has disappeared just when I badly needed it, but me was lazy to properly archive it to my own DVD-R in case I will ever need it… and I needed it now”

  3. soder
    January 22, 2014 at 2:50 am

    By the way I have the utility (my previous post would sound rather stupid if it wasnt the case 😀 )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

