Home > Uncategorized > #Lync Server 2013 CU1 Database update error

#Lync Server 2013 CU1 Database update error

Being that I love being on the bleeding edge, the first night that CU1 was out, I went to install it.  The update package installed fine and I rebooted the server.  Then when I went to run the database updates, I got the following error:

Install-CsDatabase : Command execution failed: Cannot find any suitable disks
for database files. You must manually specify database paths.
At line:1 char:1
+ Install-CsDatabase -ConfiguredDatabases -SqlServerFqdn
server.corp.domain …
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~
+ CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (:) [Install-CsDatabase], Depl
oymentException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : ProcessingFailed,Microsoft.Rtc.Management.Deploy
ment.InstallDatabaseCmdlet

My environment still has Lync 2010 in it and the Central Management Store is located on the 2010 pool.  I naturally thought this must be the issue but then I looked a bit deeper.  The answer was somewhat simple.  The disk that the SQL databases were on had less than 10% free.  I expanded the drive and the database update went through without issue.

Lesson learned, make sure you have plenty of disk (just like Exchange) when doing the updates.

*** UPDATE ***

Microsoft has released a KB article about this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2816266/en-us?sd=rss&spid=924

Key take-away, when performing the update, you must have 16GB free on the local disks.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Bob
    July 18, 2013 at 7:29 am

    Thanks! I had 15.8GB free and it failed on me….
    Previous posts had said to keep 10-16gb free, I thought I would have enough… your post conviced me to up it… completed without issues.

  2. Nick
    September 16, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    SAme for me. Had 15.8 free. Just gave it 30gb free, and now going through

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

